top of page

Why I Coach.... to "Call out the Gold" in people & teams!

This is My motto and Tag line.

It has become my ‘litmus test’ for every coaching session or Team workshop I facilitate.


I even have a signature team exercise designed around it. What does it represent?



I first discovered the phrase thanks to Elizabeth East, a very special person in my life! She introduced me to the art concept of Kintsukuroi, as shown in the image.


Kintsukuroi is about repairing a broken vessel with gold, thus restoring it and making it more exquisite than before.


I learnt from Liz that in each of us, brokenness is to be found. Yet within that brokenness is a story and a uniqueness not to be ignored. History.

That when we are lovingly restored in our uniqueness, we are capable of becoming a gift to mankind. Beautifully designed on purpose, for a purpose.


The phrase has become so dear to me that’s it’s now part of my vocabulary. An invitation to my thinking and Coaching to always be ‘seeking out the Gold’ in those I work with.


It’s why I believe in positive psychology as an approach to my coaching style and why I use Gallup Strength Finders as key tool in my toolbox as a coach.


Thanks Liz for who you are, and how you called out the gold in me and others, so many over so many years.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page